Posted by: Simon Berry | 8 June 2006

Stage 3 – Track and Map – Okehampton to Taunton

stage3-map
stage3-graph

I was very tired when I finally started this stage at 4pm from the Plymouth Inn, Okehampton. Again my over-reliance on the GPS let me down and a lot of the time I wasn’t sure I was cycling in the right direction.

Although the vertcal profile shows a downhill trend, there were some nasty climbs in this stage. Saddle time was about 4.5 hours but I didn’t get to my accommodation in Taunton until 10:10pm, 6hrs 10mins after leaving Taunton. This was due the fact that: 1) I had had it! 2) I kept having to stop to check the map and 3) I got my first puncture which I decided to repair in the side of the road (I needed the rest!).

I am not sure what I would have done without the GPS at the end of this stage. It took me straight to my accommodation. A farmhouse in the middle of a ‘low-cost’ housing estate. I would never have found this place in the dark especially given my physical and mental state. Brilliant! With a little more intelligence the GPS was going to be very useful.

As I left Okehampton, I knew I wasn’t going to get an evening meal tonight. So I consumed Go-Bars. When I started this stage I liked Go-Bars. By the time I got to Taunton I hated them. This whole situation was worsened by the fact that I feel asleep without quite getting around to cleaning my teeth (yuk!) and the go-Bars were still with me in the morning. My consumption of Go-Bars plumetted during the rest of the trip.

Download log file (text format): S03D02p.log

Download track file (Magellan MapSend format): S03D02p.trk


Second of two stages today

Distance (miles): 54.51
Saddle time (hh:mm:ss): 4:19:45
Average speed (mph): 12.59
Max speed (mph): 36.3
Cumulative distance (miles): 205.57

Notes:
Downloads are delivered via http://www.adrive.com.
Click on the images above to see them full size.
For details of how vertical profiles were derived from log files and the structure of the log files see this posting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

