Posted by: Simon Berry | 8 June 2006

Stage 16 – Track and Map – Brora to John o’ Groats

stage16-map
stage16-graph

The last stage! 65 miles to go! I couldn’t rush off this morning as I had to wait for the Post Office to open so that I could pick up a spare tyre that Pashleys had organised for me.

I arrived at the Post Office at 8:50 and my heart sank. there was a queue of about 15 people outside it. But I needn’t have worried, they were all waiting for the bus to Inverness which arrived at about 8:55. So I was first in the Post Office when it opened and was greeted by the grumpiest Post Master you have ever met – hopefully he warmed up as the day went on.

I strapped on the tyre with good old ‘zip-ties’, disposed of the packaging and was on my way. It was overcast but still dry. I’d only encountered a few spots on rain once in the whole trip. This was just south of Hamilton and was so insignificant that we didn’t even stop to put jackets on. It was over in 10 minutes.

Shortly into the ride, really angry storm clouds appeared inland. They looked so bad that I was convinced that the illuminated screen ahead was a severe weather warning. But it wasn’t. I passed the clouds to the west with feeling any rain. The light was amazing and there were lots of photos to be had. Like this one >more.

I didn’t have to get to John o’ Groats until 4pm when my colleague, David was going to meet me so I took lots of photos and sent them into the blog as I went (see the posts dated 7/6/06).

Anyway, I finally free-wheeled into John o’ Groats at about 3:15pm feeling quite pleased when a voice said “Hello Simon”. It was my Dad! A fantastic surprise. So we freewheeled the last bit together. Him on his Brompton and me on the Moulton. When we got to their camper van Mum had a duck egg omelette on the go. The perfect end to a fantastic 10 days.

Would I do it again? Yes! When I can have a webcam connected to my cycle helmet transmitting pictures and sound live to a blog!

Download log file (text format): S16D10.log

Download track file (Magellan MapSend format): S16D10.trk

Only stage today
Distance (miles): 63.74
Saddle time (hh:mm:ss): 5:06:15
Average speed (mph): 12.48
Max speed (mph): 46.4 (highes of the whole trip)
Cumulative distance (miles): 979.68

Notes:
Downloads are delivered via http://www.adrive.com.
Click on the images above to see them full size.
For details of how vertical profiles were derived from log files and the structure of the log files see this posting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

