Posted by: Simon Berry | 6 June 2006

1000 mile barrier broken – Stage 15

070606-1

I tried to be a bit disciplined about today, make an early start and do the ride in 20 mile sections. This worked well for the first 3 sections. I finished Stage 14 in two chunks. However, it fell apart a bit after lunch but by then I’d broken the back of the day.

Continuous travel is difficult up here though, as the scenery provides an almost irresistable urge to stop and take a picture. I have loads of pictures that could accompany this posting including the first road sign, on the A9, to mention John o’Groats – 111 miles. Here in Brora it’s about 70 miles away.

The picture I have chosen is of Brora Harbour. My room for the night is behind the far right dormer window.

Both legs are giving me tendon problems: right behind knee and left achilles. Tendons are funny (at least mine are) they are either fine or incredibly painful. I had to stop once today and rub my right leg hard and was then able to continue with no problem.

Only 70-odd miles to go. Only worries are the wind and my legs! The bike is fine.

Net ascent (decent) ft: (77)
Distance miles: 69.05
Average speed mph: 13.92
Time in saddle: 4:57:29
Cumulative Distance: 1005.53

Leave a Reply

Categories

