Posted by: Simon Berry | 30 May 2006

That cold north wind – Stage 3

060530-1

Finished Stage 4 at 10:10pm in the dark…. Cycling out of Cornwall, across Devon and into Somerset was never going to be easy.

This stage was complicated by various factor:

1) I didn’t get on the road until nearly 4pm

2) then there was that puncture!

3) the strong cold north wind meant loads of stops to get the clothing right

4) The photo shows how close my route was to the M5 – and I couldn’t get the SATNAV to ignore it! So had to resort to maps which slowed me up a lot.

But I think I have devised a system which combines the two which will stand me in good stead for the rest of the ride. I may be knackered but at least I feel I am a long way from Land’s End.

My first co-cyclist joins me at lunch tomorrow :-).

Net ascent (decent) ft: (405) Distance miles: 54.51 Average speed mph: 12.59 Time in saddle: 4:19:45 Max speed: 36.3

Cumulative Distance: 195.16

Responses

  1. Hi Simon
    Fantastic progress, even though you had to resort to 3000 year old technology to get you there – and in the dark. You should have borrowed the emergency headlamp from the server room and chucked that Explorer to keep the maximum weight under control. šŸ˜‰
    If we can find a cybercafe in Milan orRome, we’ll keep an eye on your progress.
    Ciao!
    Brian & Jill

  2. Simon, glad to see you are getting there, hopefully as it flattens out today you’ll get the distance done a bit quicker. If its any consolation the weather up North, though the wind would be more at your back, is wetter and colder at the moment. And don’t forget to have a word with Dan about his weather forecasting abilities when you get back šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

